Sign in to follow this  
Brigid

An awkward position (Catholicism), please help.

To what degree can one disagree with some of the teachings of the Catholic church and still be considered Catholic, if at all?

Well, I'm not technically Roman Catholic (I'm Orthodox, which is technically Catholic, but in the East), but I do know some key beliefs the Catholics have. Orthodox beliefs are roughly the same as Roman Catholic ones, with a few differences.

One is, of course, the belief that Jesus is God, that he died for our sins, and that he is the bridge that connects all humans to God. Catholics believe that he was, and is, God Himself.

Catholics also believe in the Holy Trinity (the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit). They are all God, not separate gods or other forces. The Son proceeds from the Father, and the Holy Spirit proceeds from Him. It's all connected and all one God.

Another Catholic belief is the importance of the Virgin Mary (in Eastern Orthodoxy, she is called the Theotokos, or "Mother of God"). Catholics believe that Mary was a very pure, immaculate girl who was chosen to bear Christ. She being the vessel and bearer of God makes her extremely important. In fact, she is believed to be "above the angels", and above even the highest ranks of angels: "More honorable than the cherubim, and beyond compare more glorious than the seraphim." Thus, though she is not worshipped as God is, she is revered and honored more than any saint or angel. Catholics do not pray to her, but ask for her to pray to God for us and help us.