Jahsmun

Staying Focused?

I'm a freshman this year, yaaay. :l But lately, I find it hard to actually have motivation to go to class. I have two 3 hour long evening classes and then my maths and science class and hour three times a week. I've found that I've had a hard time actually attending class, like, I'll miss 3 weeks in a row, so obviously, I'm failing all tests with 0. I really need tips on good college etiquette and being attentive/having motivation. I'm at the point, where if it weren't for my fiance forcing me to go, I'd have already dropped out.

Well, here's the thing, you go to class in college because you want to do well and pass the tests and you know the only way to do well is to go to class and learn the information. If you're really not interested in learning or doing well on the test and you don't have career goals that a college degree is necessary for, I'd say drop out because then it's just a waste of money.

Yeah, can relate to this. I can get very sluggish when it comes to going to lectures because I'm a History-IR major and, well... I have three compulsory hours a week. I'm passionate about what I study but I'm a very independent learner, and everything's online, so sometimes I get lazy. 

I'm very routine orientated (so this may differ for you). I get up at the same time every morning, no matter how late I was out the night before. 9-5 I'm doing something productive: I do reading for my tutorials, I run errands, I work out etc. It doesn't have to be university work per se, but I treat work and play as "on the clock" and "off the clock". I try and put in 8 hours "on the clock" each week day and 4 hours at the weekends. There are certain lectures I plan in advance that I'm not going to for various reasons (normally they're on topics that I'm not covering in my tutorials... or they're just super boring). But, on the whole, if I stay organised, in my routine and set goals, it works.