Sign in to follow this  
lilyriekert

If prayer works then why go to a doctor

So I'm still new to this all. But if prayer works then there is no need for doctors? Why does it not work. Why does nothing happen. Why does my mom not stop drinking. Why does nothing happen? Why? It's like you alone in a room and nobody is there but people tell you everyone is there and listening but you know you are alone and there are no doors in the room. 

Prayer works according to the good sovereign plan and will of God. Prayer does much more than perform public miracles, it performs many unseen miracles. It demonstrates our limits and demonstrates our desire to rely on an all powerful God to affect lives and things outside of our control. It invites us into the presence of a Holy God on the basis of Christ alone, knowing that without Jesus, being in the presence of God in our sinfulness will only condemn us. It gives us an opportunity to wait and see the goodness of the Lord as He answers us in ways we never would have imagined.